Aug 4, 2013
Sylvan Lake, Alberta
VetteCoins
Car
1971 LT1
I have another build thread on the other forum but since there are many more local members on this forum I thought I would start another.

I had a 1976 vette in Nova Scotia back in 2006-2007. Ended up selling it because the money needed to go to some bills.

Not a bad car but it was screaming for a frame off resto...
So after I sold it and payed my bills... I spent the next few years searching for that one vette that really for me.
Having learned so much from my 76 rust wise I am very picky. Im also a mechanic so I have some knowlege.

July 2013.
I found the car that passed all my scrutiny.

I got in, under, over, through, and upside down on this car looking for the rot or damage that would keep me from making an offer on this car.
I didn't find any... I mean any... No rust on the frame whatsoever, Trailing arms and kickups are immaculate. Body mounts all intact and not rusty. not even surface rust. The paint is 43 years old I believe. and has its issues as you would expect for 43 years. the interior is the same but compared to my 76 and many other cars I looked at this car is a survivor.
I took pics of the only damage I could find...

Thats it!

Oh yea I jumped all over it.
more on my build after I pick up my son.

have a good day

So now its time to transport it to my place in Ponoka.

yea yea lots of pics like that.. lol

Here it is in front of my tiny garage...

Shortly after that I took the vette to my friend and detail shop owner to see what he could do with it. Meanwhile I'm searching the internet for parts and researching this and that.
I found a nice 350 in town here for a great price so I picked it up and started to go through it and get it together.

until finally

Now at this point I have an engine and a car. And an EX.....
No fun. I had to move a couple of times during the winter and very little actually got done to the car. Until the end of the last move.

Engine going in the car. YAY!!!