Aug 16, 2012
Vancouver Island
VetteCoins
Car
still looking
OK, so I'm pretty new to the Corvette world and am looking for a car but what is it with all these adds that say "never been driven in the rain"? Do these things melt when they get wet? I really don't think so.

I've been a Harley rider for some years and I see the same attitude from some HD bikers- never been in the rain - and I gotta chuckle. You can't live on the Wet Coast and not ride in the rain. Some of my best rides have been soaking wet!

Anyway, I realize the 'vette ain't a winter car but I would imagine a decent set of 'wet' tires would make it drivable in the wet months on the coast. Right?

You're totally right. I think when people comment on never being driven in the rain, a two-fold reason might occur.

1. This can still be a measure of how well a car was "babied" by its previous owner. Someone that wouldn't ever have a drop of rain hit their car must be driving a cream-puff, right?

2. Back in the day, saying it was never driven in rain could make someone feel a little better about not getting a rusty frame, floorpans, wheel-wells etc. Rust-proofing has come A LONG way since, so I don't think it's as applicable as the former statement.

THese reasons aside, I think you're right. My 'Vette has seldom seen rain, but I wouldn't feel bad saying this to any prospective buyer......

Cheers!

Vince.

I always laugh when I see the never been driven in or seen rain stories.
WTF is wrong with these people. These cars are made to be driven, even the ALMS race cars are driven in the rain.
We like to travel with our Vette, nothing better than a few thousand mile journey in the Vette. Chances are your going to get wet somewhere along the way.
Unless your running slicks, todays tires are made to run in wet conditions.