Oct 25, 2015
VetteCoins
Province
BC
Since I'm new to this not sure if I should have my car on stands or not.. I waxed her, hooked up battery tender, added fuel stabilizer. Now I'm hearing that if I don't put it on stands the suspension will sag if it stays in storage on the tires. Anyone help me with this and tell me if my 2016 z51 would be better off lifted off the suspension.

Thanks, I figured it wasn't true but needed to at least ask to put my mind at ease.. after all if she's going to stay covered for another 4 months she should be comfortable

Reactions: smackYYZ
Since I'm new to this not sure if I should have my car on stands or not.. I waxed her, hooked up battery tender, added fuel stabilizer. Now I'm hearing that if I don't put it on stands the suspension will sag if it stays in storage on the tires. Anyone help me with this and tell me if my 2016 z51 would be better off lifted off the suspension.

James I much prefer dollies which will help stop flat spotting of the tires.
Many places have them at a good price but I got mine on sale at Princess Auto (they also deliver for a decent price).

On sale until Nov. 29

http://www.princessauto.com/en/detail/powerfist-2-pc-vehicle-dollies/A-p8535924e

Cheers
Colin.

Hey James.
I had an old Camaro that I put on Jack Stands for a winter. The things I noticed was instead of weight on the suspension, now the suspension was mashed against the bump stops, so it's not like the suspension just hangs freely. There was also a lot of weight hanging over the front end as the stands were behind the front tires. And lastly, if storing your car on it's tires is bad for the suspension, what about all the cars on the road that don't go in storage? They're on their suspension 24 hours a day 365 days a year. So, with these thoughts, I figured I would just keep the car on the ground from now on. As for the tires, I've never had an issue but like Colin's idea of the dollies.

Reactions: Dik