In my defence to my failed relationships, it's better to have loved and lost than not to have loved at all. An expensive endeavour not recommended for all.
You probably should have bought yourself a new corvette. It would have been wiser choice on how to spend your money. And when you decide to "divorce"it you might even get some money back instead of the other way around.

I worked in the battery industry for 30 years, selling heavy lead acid batteries and chargers for material handling equipment. The concept of the electric car is of course not new, I have an early 1900's picture somewhere of a Stanley Steamer, Baker Electric and a gasoline powered race car on the beach at Ormond in Florida. All claiming supremacy. The one company I worked for was heavily involved in the electric car market many years ago, they partnered with the American Federal Government to try to make it work. Not sure if it was the lead acid battery or charging technology but it was not very successful. They have come a long way since then.

It was not that long ago that hydrogen was going to replace the battery as the preferred fuel source for MH equipment. That did not work out but what did was the technology from the charger manufactures and their "rapid charge" process. In the past LA batteries were typically taken from a 100% charge down to about 20% capacity and then given a full charge with a rest period. Typical 7/24 operations required multiple batteries to keep things moving, a large investment. The rapid charge technology provides a recharge at a very high rate whenever there is down time. Not typical for the design of a LA battery. However it worked although battery life was shortened and if you had poorly made batteries well the charging method would certainly cut both cycle life and performance out quickly.