probably wiring or fuel leaked. In either case that's why it's a good idea to have a fire extinguisher on hand in those old c4's.

probably wiring or fuel leaked. In either case that's why it's a good idea to have a fire extinguisher on hand in those old c4's.

As a retired firefighter, I recommend an extinguisher in every car. They're not expensive, don't take up much space and worth their weight in gold should you, or someone you meet, need one.

Very handy to put out little fires that very possibly may grow into all consuming big fires.

Food for thought everyone. :canada:

and thanks for posting Keith -- A timely reminder for us all.

C.

As a retired firefighter, I recommend an extinguisher in every car. They're not expensive, don't take up much space and worth their weight in gold should you, or someone you meet, need one.

Very handy to put out little fires that very possibly may grow into all consuming big fires.

Food for thought everyone. :canada:

and thanks for posting Keith -- A timely reminder for us all.

C.

I have an extinguisher in my Chevelle ever since the fuel line decided to pop off and spray fuel all over the intake and headers. THAT was a great feeling, opening the hood to see fuel boiling away on the exhaust! :eek:

We had put about 35k miles on our '69 Chevelle when the two fuel pump bolts decided to back off. The rocking action of the loose pump had cracked the fuel line to the carb and had gas spraying around. Again, a scary thing. It pays to go over things now and then just to snug things up. I have a big extinguisher mounted right between the garage doors.

I've only seen one under hood fire and one of those little extinguishers are pretty well useless if there is any amount of gas involved. You want a good sized one, specifically for gas and electrical fires. Class B and C for electrical and flammable liquids.