Casual User
Mar 5, 2019
St. George
VetteCoins
Car
Corvette 2000
Province
ON
Hi everyone. Newbie here. Been reading lots of the great info and threads. Need some advice please.

Background Info:
Bought a one owner C5 in Jan. 3 of us took it for a test drive. 1 of us is a long vette owner. It was great. Salesman drove it 60 km to my mechanic to get it checked out. He was impressed. Very clean. Wife noticed the back of the tranny/diff was painted a grey primer colour and had #s on it. Bought it with a 90 day warranty to start in May. Brought it home on a dry Jan day. 2 weeks later I backed it 3 feet out of my non-heated garage to get some rubber mats under the tires. It ran for about 5 minutes.

Here’s the problem.
When I pulled it back in, I noticed a baseball sized puddle of really clean, red tranny fluid. Never noticed any other leaks before or after.

Thanks for any thoughts or advice?

.....you need to get it up on the hoist and it will show where it dripped from. The primered section sounds like some work was done there , could be a bad seal or lose bolts. It leaked when running so could be the pressure line. Anyways you have some warranty there so let the dealer know now that it needs to be looked at.

Last edited:
I have not had any leaks so far on my car (knock on wood). I can only echo X’s advise to let the business you purchased your car from deal with it and if you want, get it up on a lift to have a look. Sometimes gaskets can dry out and then re-seal as the car gets used, but I think that’s more on old iron than the new stuff.

.....you need to get it up on the hoist and it will show where it dripped from. The primered section sounds like some work was done there , could be a bad seal or lose bolts. It leaked when running so could be the pressure line. Anyways you have some warranty there so let the dealer know now that it needs to be looked at.