Featured Thread
Sep 17, 2020
Indiana
VetteCoins
Good evening! Never a bad day to own a 1966 Vette! My grandfather purchased this car when I was 4 years old. He told me when he bought the car it was for me, so he recently gifted it to me now that I’m 34. He wanted to see me enjoy it. He raised me and now I’m taking care of him. Circle of life. He’s not doing the greatest, so I can’t ask him every question id like and I’m not sure he knows.

Anyways I love this car. Just recently started driving it about a month ago. I am far from a mechanic! Had it quickly gone through as it hasn’t been drove for 10 plus years. Changed oil, tires, brakes, and a few other things. It’s driving great besides a mis when first starting in each gear, minor alignment issues, and needs a parking break. Could use a paint job, but it’s really just a driver I believe. I could dump tons of money in it, but it’s still a 327.

My Papaw told me it was all original. I’m assuming not every single thing, because it has a tape player in it for instance (that doesn’t work).
- How can I figure out for sure?

I’m going to put a stereo from:

As I already have one on a 1972 Chevy C10 I own and like the quality of the radio and how it attempts to look old. I do not have a jack behind the seat, so I believe I’m going to have a custom box to fit directly in there to put either 2 6x9s or 6.5s and possibly still have the cover on top for car shows (haven’t even measured yet). I don’t want to cut anything at all. Just add to and maybe secure it.

Anyone done any of this? Any tips? Any first time Corvette owner tips? I just purchased a repo owners manual from amazon just so I could figure out simple things.

I’m actually not Canadian either, but this was the coolest forum app available. Hopefully y’all don’t mind.

Attachments

• iOS Image - 4260544782.jpg
    iOS Image - 4260544782.jpg
    503.7 KB · Views: 91
  • iOS Image - 348092576.jpg
    iOS Image - 348092576.jpg
    354.1 KB · Views: 92