May 24, 2015
VetteCoins
Car
1978 Corvette
Last summer my mom's bf took my car to his mechanic and he put it on his hoist and he told him that I need to have my rear differential yoke replaced. He told my mom's bf that my rear wheels were loose. So I put my car on jacks this weekend and I tried to see if I could move my rear wheels like the mechanic said and it wouldn't budge.

So I am wondering if he was giving me a bad diagnostic or he is has no clue how are Corvette works.

What are the symptoms to look for when the rear side yokes needs to be replaced?

Hi SM....
I'm not a mechanic and never played one on TV but here's a cursory test to try at home..
Jack rear wheel off the ground..
Grab tire at 12 & 6 o'clock and move tire....
Then try this at 3 & 9....
Back to 12 & 6.... While moving the tire look at the half-shafts and ascertain if the movement is in the trailing arm bearing or side yoke play in the diff. Too much in either is not good.
Of course taking it to a trained professional is recommended.
But the above procedure will give you an opportunity to keep a check on it for yourself.
Too much play in the side-axles is usually a result of end wear, within the diff.

Safety first while the car is on the jack...
Maybe have someone else move the tire while you look at the diff.
Good luck.
Graham

G09344477.png

Maybe he was talking about the yoke at the differential itself. I suggest you check if there is some play at the diff. where the half shaft is bolted to the diff not necessarily at the wheels. Here is the exploded view, you can clearly see the side gear yoke.

what usually wears is the groove that the "C" clip sits in on the half shaft yokes . if the play is under 050", don't worry about it. with out the wheels and half shafts removed it can be difficult to check the freeplay on the yokes.