Aug 26, 2021
Montreal
VetteCoins
Car
Corvette 2023 C8 Z51
Province
QC
Hello,

As some of you know, two years ago I decided to put my deposit for the C8 with some Ontario dealers, instead of here in Quebec, to increase my chances and better my odds of getting a C8 sooner. Two years later, I have had to jump thru some hoops and go thru various steps required to allow me to go and pickup this car in ON and be able to drive it back to QC. Not as straight forward as you think it might be, there was a lot of back and forth with the dealer for them to Purloator some docs to me. It was a learning experience to say the least.

So rather than just say I learned something and walk away from it, I figured I would spend an hour or two this morning documenting some of these important steps, with respect to vehicle registration, insurance and sales tax for out of province purchases like mine. I am by no means a legal expert here, but simply capturing the steps I had to go thru to allow me to insure and register the vehicle for the drive back next week. I tried to stay generic in the document, as some of you may be doing an out of province purchase from other dealers in other provinces, versus my case from ON.

If you are having your vehicle shipped by the dealer from another province to yours, the registration and insurance part should be a lot easier than the steps I had to go thru, but the sales tax section would still apply, some good info in there !!

I don't mind if the document is built out further by some of you, if you want to correct anything or add more info to it, but at least it will serve as a base, to educate those of you who are about to take the same steps I just took. So hoping you find it useful.

Attachments

• Out Of Province Vehicle Purchase.pdf
    1.2 MB · Views: 229
Ahhmmm, did they change some stuff since 2019???