Jul 4, 2019
Elora
VetteCoins
Car
2023 Stingray
Province
ON
I was at Cullens in Guelph yesterday to get a filter for my 2019 Grandsport and the parts guy told me this is what they use for a filter?
I have never used this filter before and I believe this is the wrong filter. Has anyone go
PXL_20230407_103803837.jpg
t any info on this? I think the bypass pressure is too high.

Cariboocreek is correct and you're right to be suspicious, it is the wrong oil filter for the Gen 5 LT1. Even though the UPF64R is purported to be a performance upgrade over the recommended PF64 it does not have the correct bypass pressure. It's important to use a filter with a bypass pressure of 22 PSI. The spec on the UPF64R is too high at 35.53 psi. Even though the OEM PF64 has undergone a number of changes / modifications over the years, it is still the best choice while the vehicle is covered under the factory, or extended, powertrain warranty.

See this thread for more detail.

Last edited:
Yep, wrong filter. Just yesterday I read two hours worth of threads on oil filters. I know, crazy....but I was bored....lol.
So, here's a thought, scary or not! Since they're giving you the wrong filter I wonder what oil they're putting in these cars when you bring them in for a change? Just one more reason to do the ALL the changes yourself!

• Agree
Reactions: cdnrx1
I have a 2014 Z51 with the dry sump...is the PF64 the right filter for my vette...thx...I am going to get oil changed this week....I buy the Mobil 1 Synthetic and filter and take it to my buddys automotive shop where he personally changes the oil and filter..Is there another filter out there that compares to the AC Delco that some of you use or stick to the AC Delco...thx

There are products from Napa and Wix that meet these requirements but the PF64 is generally considered to be the most suitable filter for the LT1. The 22 PSI internal bypass rating is extremely important and not many filters meet this spec.

Reactions: Pocono kid