Arun

Dec 16, 2012
Waterloo
VetteCoins
Car
2002 Z06
Not that I'm an expert on anything but some recent claims have me baffled? I've talked to several people and the reply's ranged from concern to all out laughter.

But then this is the internet and unsubstantiated claims can be posted with no footnotes, background checks or any proof-those days are long gone.

Upon opening a tune-I find this. All GM codes from P0170-P0175 are turned off. For your reference-these are not turned off from GM.

Apparently this task was performed by an individual with quote: " He is an automotive engineer that was offered a job @ GM in the drivability programming division with a six digit pay scale. K***n declined the offer,he prefers to have the freedom to make his own hours and have more time for his family"

And apparently so much experience that he has tuned " K***n of C*******n M****s dyno tuned over 450 cars in 2014 alone. He has given me guidance with my street tuning and is the only engineer (with papers) "

I'm surprised because it's not everyday GM comes seeking employees and offering them 6 digit salaries-and with a family it would be hard to pass up the benefit package and pension a company like GM would offer.

If your wondering what those codes do, basically they will throw a check engine light if your car is adjusting the fuel trims over +- 25%. The latest OBD 2 cars are very sensitive to airflow changes and GM put those there in case something has gone wrong in the intake stream of the car.

Now I have pulled tunes out of 2014 and 2015 cars and trucks and those codes are still there.

So I'm baffled what this engineer who refused a job with GM would do this? Could this engineer actually be smarter than the GM engineers or does he know something GM doesn't?

I honestly don't know-I didn't even know GM had driveability tuning. Since every GM vehicle is made to be able to be driven by a 16 year old newbie to 95year old grandmother.