Jul 21, 2021
Niagara Falls
VetteCoins
Car
2011 Corvette Grand
Province
ON
Last weekend, I bleed my brakes on my 2011 grand sport using a vacuum pump at the calipers. Now, when I start my car, the brake pedal sink almost to the floor and the brakes feel weird during driving. Any idea what could be wrong?

Could be a couple things... Is the pedal spongy feeling? This is typically a sign of air in the system as air will compress and not transfer the pressure to the calipers... Other cause my be the piston in the master cylinder sticking but it's more likely air. I would try bleeding the system again by gravity only. Watch for air bubbles coming out when someone pumps the pedal and make sure the reservoir doesn't empty in this process as it will introduce more air. I'm not a mechanic but have bled brakes on lots of my vehicles back in the day and very familiar with trapped air...

Thanks for all the input I received. A few minutes ago, I ordered a Motive brake bleeder to replace my 20+ years old vacuum bleeder. I have done all my other vehicles for the last 20 years using my vacuum bleeder with no issues but I guess I met my match with the Corvette brake system. I will keep posted with the results once I receive my new bleeder.

Never use vacuum bleeder .. use only speed bleeder. (Made in USA )
sbani.gif
http://www.speedbleeder.com/

• Useful
Reactions: OL Yeller
I'm generally new to car maintenance, but I bought a vacuum bleeder with hopes of maintaining my boat and Corvette brakes. I had lots of trouble with the vacuum bleeder, specifically pulling air bubbles from what I presume are the threads (this was on my boat trailer). I later found out that this is a very common issue so I dumped the thing. I made a simple one-man bleeder tool using an old soda bottle and some hosing. I ended up having my wife help me out and it was much simpler this way.