you need to tell us abit more info. What year of C4 / engine ? define " will not restart " ? , do you mean it won't turn over anymore, or turns but does not fire ?

you need to tell us abit more info. What year of C4 / engine ? define " will not restart " ? , do you mean it won't turn over anymore, or turns but does not fire ?

Sorry I’m new to this.
It is a 96 coupe.
Once I jump the car it will keep running but if I turn it off I can not restart it. It doesn’t even turn over.

....hmmmm, you state you have a new battery which does start the engine but later it will not crank over or very poorly my guess. It could be a bad battery and I would have it load tested by a shop to confirm that it is a good battery. Now, when it was running, did you look at the volt guage on the dash ? it should show approx 13 - 15 volts which indicates that the alternator is charging. If you put the headlights and a/c fan speed on full blast it still should show 13 V or more but if goes way down to say 10 or something then the alternator is not charging enough thus draining the battery. The ignition system / electrical of these cars require alot of juice and if the alternator can't supply more than the demand then the battery goes down and won't have enough energy to start the engine again. You can double check you cable connections on the battery for no corrosion and being tight ( don't overtighten as easy to strip the threads.