Nov 1, 2012
Mississuaga
VetteCoins
Car
1974 Stingray
I'm about to buy a 73 Vette. I believe the odometer is in Miles. The seller has shown me a Ontario Safety Certification with the same reading in KM. I'm a vette newbie. Please clarify if possible. Also, its an original 350 with either 108,000 KM or 178,000 miles. Engine looks good and clean. Headers are orginal. Car drove well. I'm concerned about 178,000KM. Should I be?

Is the car all original? Has anything been rebuilt?

I guess it would depend on how much you are going to drive it. If it looks to be in very good condition, I would not worry about it. C3's are pretty easy to work on and you have Manny close by for trusted repairs (Dasilva Motorsports) if anything needs to be fixed. I say if you like it and it's the right price in good condition, go for it... However, maybe some C3 owners can chime in on what to look for before buying it.

The odometer is definitely in miles. If it has exhaust headers, they are NOT original. That car came from the factory with cast iron manifolds.

As for any C3 you consider purchasing, you should check the birdcage for rust. There may be evidence of rust flakes below the windshield at both inside door frames. Also, check the frame behind both seats where it kicks up to go over the rear wheels. Frame problems are common in northern U.S. and Canada.

Good luck.

I looked at a mid-70s C3 a few years ago, and decided to take photos.

1oauf8.jpg

akg6pz.jpg

295bpsz.jpg

I'll leave it to your imagination to calculate the repair costs.
:nono: